How to Dismiss a Speeding Ticket in Texas

Published: 08th February 2010
Views: N/A

Nobody ever plans to get a speeding ticket. However, there are mechanisms available to defer the cost of getting a speeding ticket (money and points towards your driving record). A speeding ticket can also result in an auto insurance premium increase. It is possible to avoid these costs by taking a defensive driving course online or through a local driving school.



First, to take a defensive driving course in Texas in order to have your ticket dismissed requires permission from State authorities. Your court date should be indicated on your ticket. Permission can be requested by simply mailing the following items to court:



• A completed copy of the affidavit with your notarized signature.

• Proof of a non-commercial valid driver's license

• A copy of your insurance policy.

• Court administration fees.



After the court grants permission for you to take the defensive driving course you will have 90 days to mail your certificate of completion to the court. Conveniently, defensive driving courses can be taken online. Within the 90 days, you can go as fast or as slow as you please. Every time that you Log in, you can simply pick up where you left off.



Upon successful completion of your online driver's course, the driving school will issue you a certificate of completion. It is up to you to present this to the court. It may also be necessary to submit a copy of your driving record depending on the laws that apply in the county where the ticket was issued. The court will give you a deadline to submit your certificate. Make sure to honor this deadline.



Even if you have not received a ticket, you can still take a defensive driving course in order to receive an insurance discount. You can take an online driver's education course once every 12 months for the purpose of dismissing a ticket. Points that you receive due to a traffic violation remain on your record for a period of 3 years, so a defensive driving course is the smart option.



The only conditions which make you ineligible for taking an online course to dismiss a ticket are if you hold a commercial driver's license (CDL) or if you were speeding 25mph or more over the speed limit.


Report this article Ask About This Article


Loading...
More to Explore